elegantwaste's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

law school

Wow, it's been a long time.

So I'm in law school now, which is an extremely surreal experience. All the other students seem like they fit into either a Ken or Barbie mold: gorgeous, polished, and self-confident. At least that was my first impression: I know a bit better now. But regardless, I still feel a bit like a fish out of water. The token queer in my small group of mostly-conservative students. The token fat girl as well. The almost token person NOT wanting to be a soulless corporate lawyer. I wonder what I'm doing there a lot.

But then there's stuff like the legal-aid work I'm doing, going in as a law student and helping people with their legal problems. These are issues of huge importance for these people, and I'm one of the only avenues they have to face. It's scary, but also kind of exhilarating.

I went to a wine and cheese last night, with lawyers from big firms everywhere trying to recruit students. Not us first years really, but a little. They give you tons of free stuff, it's pretty fucking cool. But the event itself seems so phony - the big firms are so insincere, or so I felt.

So begins a crazy journey. This is something huge that will probably get me a great job one day. It's also sooo much work already.

I'm going to start writing in here again, I think - I forget that I like this place.

12:07 p.m. - 2005-09-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

janetplnetoc
soulepiphany
rdhdprincess
bebelua
flipstash
itsmylife
citizenjane
thatgrrrl