elegantwaste's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

it is the stars, the stars above us govern our actions

I love 'About a Boy' (the movie, not the book: Nick Hornby can't write a narrative for shit) so much. It appeals to the lost little kid who was afraid her mother was going to disappear any day and the selfish bastard of a person I've grown into.

-

My toilet seat is broken.

-

I've had a couple days of pure intellectual snobbery. It's rather refreshing. I even got insulted high-school style for being a nerd today by one of my fellow baristas, the bastard new guy everyone hates, because I was actually trying to teach him something his dumb little mind can't handle.

You realize being insulted for basically being smart only increased my snobbery.

Yes.

It's not a new realization, but the work environment I'm in makes it almost refreshing to know that I'm smarter or at least far better educated than the general population. By FAR. Being in a university environment, I always feel much, much, much dumber than everyone. Because, you know, everything has something to say in class, and they inevitably think of it before I do. In a general environment, I'm always the one with something to say.

What that means I'm not sure.

But I'm trying to brace myself from the fall from smart to dumb come September. [I'm trying to brace myself for September and the master's degree endeavor in general - it's not working. Panic.] Because otherwise I'll be overwhelmed by all the more-brilliant-than-me people, and freak out, and panic, and drop out.

Which would not be good because then I'd have to give back my computer.

Yes.

10:35 p.m. - 2003-07-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

janetplnetoc
soulepiphany
rdhdprincess
bebelua
flipstash
itsmylife
citizenjane
thatgrrrl