elegantwaste's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

getting old.

I met my father at the bus station yesterday, to say goodbye as he left back for Manitoba.

He looks old.

My dad is twenty years older than my mom. They were having a torrid love affair - my mom was my dad's dental assistant - as my mother was trying to get her divorce from her first husband finalized. Whoops, she got pregnant. With me.

So they got married, against their better judgement. It didn't work out, but they tried for 15 years.

But all this means that I'm 22 and my father is 70 years old. My mom is 51.

My dad hasn't really looked his age up until the last two years. But he seems to be getting smaller. Losing muscle. Getting long in the face. His hair is *finally* going grey - no, really, only now, which is nice for me to think about. But he's looking like an old man. It's scary.

And I'm getting older. I'm getting wrinkles and it's harder to lose weight and I have to moisturize constantly and I get tired all the time.

I don't want to get old.

I don't want my dad to get old.

I want it to be 1985 again.

Sigh.

4:11 a.m. - 2002-09-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

janetplnetoc
soulepiphany
rdhdprincess
bebelua
flipstash
itsmylife
citizenjane
thatgrrrl