elegantwaste's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

revolution

I have three favourite cheesy TV movies. None of them are about 'issues', because I don't seem to care about 'issues'. All, however, are about falling in love.

For someone who doesn't really believe in love, I sure go for the sap.

The first is A Change Of Place, starring Rick Springfield, of 'Jesse's Girl' fame. It involves one of my favourite subjects: twins. (Fuck man, I read all those freakin' Sweet Valley books when I was a kid. They brainwashed me, man.)

So, one twin is a supermodel, Dominique, and the other is an art historian. Dominique, of course, has an alcohol problem, and the other twin has to pretend to be a supermodel while Dominique is in rehab. This movie of course involves an ex-hooker model, an older beautiful female role model, and the high powered rich business man who knew Dominique before the switch and hated her, but falls in love with faux-Dominique. Through blackmail and intrigue and runway shows, they fall in love. Wheeeee!

This is, by far, my favourite TV movie, ever.

Second would be This Matter of Marriage which, like the previous fine film, was produced by Harlequin. There's a book, too, which I've read. And it's not nearly as good.

In this one, there's a single, high-powered businesswoman, an architect rather, named Hallie, who is perfectly happy being single and doesn't need a man - except that's the only thing that will make her happy. A single dad, with crude manners and a terrible view of women, moves next door to her with his daughter. They share plumbing, which is messed up, and are forced to confront one another in towels pretty often. There's some sort of plot in this, I think, involving Hallie drawing up plans for a building, and the dad and his ex-wife, but in the end they fall in love and awwwww. Cause it's like, different worlds, coming together! She changes him! Now she can be a powerful strong career woman, and have a husband and a ready-made daughter at that!

Yes, I realize this goes against most of what I stand for. And if you weren't sure? Yeah, it does. But, I still cry. And I still go 'aww'. And. Yeah. So much for feminism.

Third is Borrowed Hearts, starring as Kathleen Roma Downey of Touched By An Angel fame (which I sometimes watch, also. i'm a big masochist.) and also starring Erik McCormack, Will of Will and Grace, as Mr. Fields. This movie was on tv this afternoon, and I joined it halfway, not caring because I have seen it at least five times.

It's a Christmas themed film, about, say it with me! A high-powered businessman! who wants to make a deal with a Mexican business man played by the fabulous Hector Elizondo (dude, Chicago Hope my ass. he's the Pretty Woman "manager of the hotel, sir." whee!). Hector, or, Senor Del Campo, is a family man! And apparently will be much softer towards someone if they have a family. Mr. Fields, of course, doesn't have a family. So he rents one!

The little girl in this is adorable and laughs with high pitched squeals. She's probably a brat offstage. Anyway. They move in for Christmas, and pretend to be the wife and child of Erik McCormack. Of course, blah blah blah, Mr. Fields learns to love for the first time, while Monica - I mean, Kathleen - learns to trust men again. I blah blahed that her ex-husband is a deadbeat con artist.

I watched this whole movie just a few minutes ago, and it made me sniffle and cry and it was terrible. All these movies are TERRIBLE! Badly made, badly acted, badly scripted. Cheesy, sappy, unrealistic. They are romance novels translated to television. And I LOVE them.

I try to explain my love for trash to people, sometimes. You see, I read romance novels, but I also read Joyce and Fielding and Woolf and Rushdie. I'm a freakin' English major, okay? I've read everyone. I listen to Britney and NSync, but I also listen to Chopin and Ben Harper and Radiohead. I watch Harlequin romance movies, and I watch art house films. I rent foreign films without dubs or subtitles. okay?

I love it all, but, you know what? The trash is so much more fun than the good stuff. I get much more out of reading Dickens than I do Danielle Steele, and Dickens stays with me. But the romance makes me laugh and jeer and generally enjoy myself, in a way I just don't with Dickens.

People often tell me I have no taste. And while I like many tasteless things, I don't think this is true. I fully realize what kinds of things are quality and which kinds of things are not. I would never say that NSync is artistic musically, or that Borrowed Hearts is an award-deserving film. What bothers me about most people, however, is that this makes not able to enjoy these things for what they are - frivolous fun.

So, yes. Watch Harlequin movies without shame! (or teen sex romps, or slayer movies, or action flicks. all the same). Read mindless trash! (which most people do, yo.) Listen to pop! Revolt, I say, against intellectual snobbery which says such things are lowbrow! Of course they're lowbrow, that's why it's fun!

you say you want a revolution, well, you know. we all want to change the world.

3:01 p.m. - 2002-08-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

janetplnetoc
soulepiphany
rdhdprincess
bebelua
flipstash
itsmylife
citizenjane
thatgrrrl