elegantwaste's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

never a bridesmaid, always a bride.

So, I love my girlfriend dearly, and she's so great to me, and believe me, I can be pretty tiring sometimes. We talked a little last night, because I was feeling depressed and taking it out on her a bit, etc etc. But she's so wonderful, and I really never thought I would find someone I could love this much, and who could love me. I mean, me. It's just, really really great.

So, this isn't even a thing, really, it's me and my ever-present feeling of inadequacy, of mediocrity.

But she's better at everything than me.

Everything, maybe not, because of course we have different skills, though I can't think of anything I can do better than she can. But what I really mean is grades. We're in the same discipline, so we've had to do a lot of the same courses. Every class we've been in together, or both of us taken at different times, even, she's recieved a grade just a bit better than mine, 1 to 5 percent-wise. Always, this includes a letter grade, since I'm the queen of A-, and she gets straight A's and usually A+'s. Because she's fucking brilliant, and just plain good at school, and of course I love her for that.

To be honest, I probably couldn't deal with being with someone less smart than me. I mean, I've done that before, and it sucked, because I'm totally an intellectual snob. I look up to intellect, and smarts turn me on. I love it.

But once, just once, I wanted to do better than her in something. Something stupid, even: German for Reading Knowledge. A six-week joke of a course. Three exams were the only requirement. I went into it thinking, of course my girlfriend will do better than me, she always does. But then I did better than her on both of the first exams, not by much, maybe 6% each time. I got A+'s, she got A's.

So, of course, I thought that finally! I would be the better student.

Our grades came back today: She beat me by 1%.

And of course, she told me, and I freaking started CRYING, because I'm a big loser.

And it's moments like that when I just want to stop my MA and go do something else, so I can be with her and not resent her so much for being so much better at everything than me.

And how freaking childish is that? I realize I need to get over myself, that I need to just accept that she'll always be more successful and more noticeable and more brilliant. Because those are things that I love about her.

But it's kind of hard, dude. Because still, just once I want to be better at something than her, and I'm sort of afraid of that feeling.

10:44 a.m. - 2004-06-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

janetplnetoc
soulepiphany
rdhdprincess
bebelua
flipstash
itsmylife
citizenjane
thatgrrrl