elegantwaste's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

writing.

I'm trying to remember when and why I stopped writing. I remember when I started, when I decided to define myself as a writer.

Pamie is back, and her entry today made me cry.

I haven't written something I consider worthwhile in a year, at least. That previous year all I did was write. I think one day I realized slowly that I just wasn't any good. My ideas were old, my writing was wordy and unnatural, and I couldn't measure up to all the people I admire.

The biggest reason I stopped writing, I think, was that I didn't have anything to say.

If you can't do it, teach it, they say, and maybe I'll do that. Become a prof, or an editor, or a publisher. But I know that if I do these things I'll never write again. Because being constantly reminded of people who are better than you can't bolster confidence.

The only thing I have been writing is journals, but journals are easy. I have no idea if I have an audience in this journal, and if I do, who they are, and I like that.

But yeah. I'm gonna do the 3-day Novel Writing contest. and try to get something out of me. Because maybe I have something to say.

2:24 p.m. - 2002-07-31

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

janetplnetoc
soulepiphany
rdhdprincess
bebelua
flipstash
itsmylife
citizenjane
thatgrrrl