elegantwaste's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

These last three years have been spent in law school, hence the lack of posting. I learned some stuff, met some people. I moved to a new city for my third year - not new, but the city where I grew up.

I did indeed graduate with my law degree in May, but no great or fabulous job has fallen into my lap. At graduation time I was dealing with serious burnout, my partner was going away for two months, and my house had flooded and was fill with renovation guys doing their thing. Basically I laid low for a couple months, doing nothing exciting except reading books, meditating, sleeping, eating, and walking.

Since then I've been job-hunting. It blows. Although I have a law degree, I don't want to be a lawyer. really and truly. At least not most kinds of lawyers. And here in my modest-sized but not large hometown, there really aren't the kind of jobs I need. Except that I'm hesitant about leaving, since I'd be leaving my partner behind.

I'm not the type of person that should have gone to law school, I think, and maybe I should go back and read some past entries to see what the heck I was thinking. I lack the ambition, drive, and assertiveness to really thrive as any kind of litigator. And I'm too lazy to work at most law firms. So while I'm open to articling, should a position fall in my lap, I'm looking for non-profit jobs, government work, research contracts (which I'm doing now on a short-term basis).

So. I wouldn't say I'm happy with how my life is going right now. It's weird having no future commitments, no first day of school in september. I don't know what I want, and I don't know where I'll end up. And I definitely don't know how to get there. But hopefully it will fall into place. It always has before.

1:19 p.m. - 2008-08-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

janetplnetoc
soulepiphany
rdhdprincess
bebelua
flipstash
itsmylife
citizenjane
thatgrrrl